Reviews

To add your own review Click here

September 2017

Hi Viv and Neville,

I just wanted to thank you for our week in your holiday cottage. We had a fantastic week and Northumberland blew us away. We honestly had no idea it was so beautiful. We enjoyed all the walks and managed to see Cresswell beach, Kielder Forest, Carlisle, High and Low Force and obviously a little bit of Newcastle. The countryside and your surrounding area is stunning. We loved it. The dogs had never had such a wonderful holiday before and loved all the walks around your farm.

The Cowshed was very comfortable and done to such a good standard ( you have lovely interior design taste !). In fact, we slept so well we took a photo of the label on your mattress and are planning to get the same one.

We will be back if you will have us back again! We loved it and I had to let you know. You have a wonderful setup and you have done it so well. Everyone was so friendly and we had a chat with Ben and his dad. I really liked the sheep and wanted to take a couple home.

So thank you for a fantastic week,

Regards
Sarah and Carmine Porpora - Sussex

September 2017

The Big 70!! We loved the wonderful Barn & Cowshed and all the environs - perfect for all our family.

Ramsden & Campbell Families - Yorkshire & Edinburgh

September 2017

Awesome. Everything we wanted and a truckload more! Thank you for the cake, marmalade, and beers. A very warm welcome - we didn't want to go home. We very much want to come back.

Bloomer, Hadland, Marriott, Moore & Simpson Families - 60th birthday celebration.

August 2017

Absolutely fantastic week. We had a wonderful stay & will definitely recommend the Barns to family & friends. Loved the small touches such as the luxurious Cowshed toiletries. Good weather and lovely walks.

Steel family - Scarborough, N Yorks.

July 2017

A fantastic holiday. Stunning barn ticked every box! Thank you. Superb walks with lunch at the Kirkstyke Inn - superb chicken kebabs and sticky toffee pudding. Vindolanda A* and Houseteads good on the Roman Wall. Lovely tearooms in Alston. Loved every minute.

The Wing Family - Lincolnshire

July 2017

A superb week in a great cottage. Well thought out walks with the bonus of not having to drive to the start. What was best was that the age range of 14 - 78 were able share time in this great location. The best part for us was the time and effort that Ben the farmer (and his dad, Paul) made - knocked on the door and said they would be shearing the sheep. Some lovely villages and great people, plus one of the best fitted-out kitchens we have seen.

Powells - Christchurh & Mei Mei family from Malaysia

June 2017

Fabulous time, loved the birds, red squirrels and such a great space in the house for a family reunion.

Galloways, Websters, Bates and Smith family's
Scotland, Leicestershire & Australia

May 2016

Thank you so much for such for a superb holiday. We have all really enjoyed staying in your beautiful barns in such stunning surroundings. We had a fascinating guide to Hadrian's Wall & Vindoland - Peter Carney.

Holland's, Stone's, Milford's, Wakefield's and freinds

May 2017

Fantastic time had by all, amazing building inside & out. kids loved the garden and all the walks on our doorstep, as did the dogs.

Marshall, Henderson and Nicholson Families

May 2017

We have had a splendid week here, full of walking, sunshine, good food and wine. The building is fabulous - it has been great having two of everything, and the view in the upstairs sitting room is amazing. Thank you - cake & beer a lovely touch.

Jennifer Mills and friends

April 2017

Amazing place everything was perfect, had another wonderful stay. Thanks again Viv - hope to see you again.

Whitley's & Lane's

March 2017

Lovely place for family get together. The Barn is the ideal property and has everything!! We'd love to come back sometime.

The Grays - Aberdeen and the Mursions - Yorkshire 

March 2017

Stunning property, the best we have ever stayed in. Perfect layout for family gatherings, Neville and his team were great and made sure our stay was as good as possible. Would definitely come back.

Graham & Sheila Thompson - Houston

March 2017

This is one of the best holiday venues I have been at. Nice owners who made everyone most welcome. A lot of thought has been put into the building and design of the rooms. Thank you for a great holiday. I will return for sure.

George Kay - Glasgow

February 2017

February 2017

The perfect place for a family celebration - beautifully converted buildings in a dramatic location, and very comfortable. Loads of room for relaxing. The facilities are excellent: great showers and baths, large, comfortable beds, well-equipped bathrooms and kitchens. We went on some great walks and enjoyed a pub lunch at the Kirkstyle Inn.

The Bains

February 2017

February 2017

You have obviously put a lot of love into creating this beautiful space in such stunning countryside. Such a lovely stay here in your beautifully designed home - a real jewel. We have all loved it and are loath to leave. The cake, marmalade, fresh farm eggs and beers were very well received. We will definitely be back. Thank you.

 The Wrights - Suffolk

January 2017

January 2017

We had a fantastic time at Williamston Barns.  It was ideal for the family party.  Everyone had good comments about the space and the location.  The large rooms were particularly good and the two kitchens allowed the children to be fed in one for their supper and breakfast and be able to rush about as much as they liked, while the more subdued of the party could get away and have a bit of quiet time!  

You have thought of almost everything! My brother had his usual subtle comment about his stairs not having any heating.  I had put him and his wife in the upper bedroom and sitting room and his humour can be a little strange but we all laughed at his mad complaint!  So, all in all, it was a brilliant success so very many thanks.  We also had a good meal in Alston at the hotel and on the Sunday two of us went walking to the pub and again had a very good meal so I would recommend both places and the walk to both well worth the trip.  

I will certainly recommend the Barns to friends and family. 

Ann Shaw - Co.Cork, Ireland

January 2017

January 2017

This is the most amazing place - everything is beautiful  - such a treat to spend time in such a gorgeous house. And the countryside is beautiful too - great walks and views. Thank you.

The Evans Family - Gateshead

December 2016 / January 2017

December 2016 / January 2017

We have had a fabulous New Year here! The Barn and the Cowshed have been perfect for our party of 14 ranging from 7 months to 88 years old. You really have thought of everything - we couldn't have asked for anything else. We have enjoyed lazy mornings and exploring the local area which is very picturesque. Wishing all at Williamston Barns a very Happy New Year.

The Bowman Family

Chirstmas 2016

Christmas 2016

We have had the lovelist family Christmas in the most beautiful property. Such comfy beds and the most well equipped kitchen we have had in any holiday house. The walks around here are great with lovely views and steep hills.

Beth Wakefield and family

December 2016

December 2016

The most beautiful place. The attention to detail is exceptional. Thank you so much.

The Collinson Family - Durham, Yorkshire, Berkshire & Spain

November 2016

Nov 2016

Fantastic stay at the property for my 40th birthday. So impressed with the barns and comforts. Everything was thought of. Thanks.

The Lyons Family - Leeds, London and Lancaster

October 2016

October 2016

A most pleasurable stay at this remarkable barn. Superb interior - A** to Viv for her excellent choice of decor and furnishings. The cake, fresh bread, and local brews were a nice touch. We will most definitely be returning and will highly recommend to friends and family.

The Rabone Family - Warwickshire

October 2016

October 2016

What a fantastic place. The accommodation is absolutely stunning and so comfortable. The grand children love the swing and the garden. We loved the country walks, peace & quiet and the cosy log burner, along with the homemade cake and jam. Neville was a brilliant host. We will definitely be back in the near future. A little gem fo a place - highly recommend.... Love it!

The Goodwins & Davies Families - Rossendale, Lancs

September 2016

Sept 2016

A most pleasurable stay at this remarkable barn. Superb interior A** to Viv for her excellent choice of decor and furnishings. The cake, fresh bread and local beers were a nice touch. We will most definitely be returning and will highly recommend to friends and family.

The Rabone Family - Warwickshire

September 2016

Sept 2016

Together for a Silver Wedding celebration with four generations aged from 3 to 77. We have had a wonderful few days. The property is so comfortable and luxurious. And so well equipped - surpassed expectations all 16 of us loved it.

Wetherbys, Campbells, Bruces and Large Families.

September 2016

Sept 2016

Great place to celebrate my birthday with friends. Fantastic house and location. Can't wait to return. Thank you.

Steve & Lindsay Smith, Worcs

August 2016

August 2016

Excellent accommodation in a beautiful setting. Great walks on the doorstep. The Roman Army museum is definitely worth a visit. A great holiday in a lovely setting - we couldn't have asked for anything more - we'll certainly be recommending you. Thank you.

The Beevor & Miles families - Norwich

August 2016

August 2016

We really enjoyed our holiday at the Cowshed - it was a beautiful property in a fantastic location and we even had great weather too. We were very impressed with the property and have already recommended you to family and friends. I’m sure we will be back in contact in the future too!

Regards, Steve and Sarah Herd

August 2016

August 2016

Big family get together. Fabulous property so well equipped and in an amazing spot. We all had a great time including the dogs who enjoyed a warm shower every morning. Thanks.

The Burns & Ramsey's

July 2016

July 2016

We all had a fantastic time in a great location and the weather was hot hot hot! Many thanks to our hosts - nothing too much trouble. The cake and the marmalade were wonderful. We will be back. Thank you.

The Schofield Family - Leeds

July 2016

July 2016

Stunning location and stunning barn conversion - a wonderful time was had by all - loved all the extra touches that added to the stay.

Jamie, Ali and Lily

June 2016

June 2016

We've had a great weekend in the most beautiful place, we would love to come back in the future. The fresh eggs and lovely cake were very much appreciated. Thank you very much.

Chris's 30th Birthday weekend.

June 2016

June 2016

Lovely stay in a gorgeous barn with lots of room for eight children to run free and lovely interiors for adults to enjoy, Thanks for the yummy cake too. Hope to come back.

The Bennetts, Layocks, Sweetings and Scotts

June 2016

June 2016

We had a wonderful family holiday. This house is amazing and we will definitely be back!

The Doran Family

June 2016

June 2016

We have fallen in love with Williamston Barns - we couldn't have found a more beautiful house or setting. Thank you so much.

Hattie Crissell & Friends

May 2015

May 2015

What a fantastic, beautiful and calming place! Both the Cowshed & the Barn are the most perfect accommodation we all ever stayed in - we've loved every minute - didn't want to leave. Many thanks to Neville & Viv for all of the little touches that make you feel at home straight away. Love it all!

The Marshall Party.

May 2016

May 2016

What a wonderful space for our special break. We could not fault a thing, very well equipped.

We will endeavour to return very soon.

Many thanks.

The Woods

April 2016

April 2016

We had an amazing four days in The Barn, everything exceeding our expectations. Comfortable and luxurious, every need catered for, in a peaceful and quiet location. No need to move from here, with walks out on our doorstep, surrounded by unspoilt and beautiful countryside. The kitchen is well equipped and sociable, the two wood burning stoves providing the "wow" factor in the evening. A first visit and we have fallen in love with Northumberland and Williamston Barns.

The Kilduff's & The White's

Wallingford, Oxon

April 2016

April 2016

I'm struggling to come up with anything to improve the service, from the booking to arrival at the houses and the weekend there, everyone has been amazingly helpful. Thank you.

I can honestly say that all 14 of us had a fab time. The thought that had gone into equipping the houses was great, and this provided the perfect place to celebrate two 50th family birthdays. The 2 properties and how they connected gave us the space we needed. The cake, eggs and beers were a lovely welcome and went down really well.

I have to confess we didn't go to many places during our stay, a brief trip to Alston was about it. We did go on one of the walks around the estate which provided wonderful views and amazing we saw 2 lambs being born, I'm sure my nephew won't forget that in a hurry!

Many thanks

Alison Fountain

April 2016

April 2016

We had a wonderful holiday at the Cowshed. The owners were very welcoming and helpful and the barn has been furnished to a very high quality. We just loved it; the bedrooms were very comfortable, the bathroooms spacious and we always had lots of hotwater. It was perfectly clean and warm and the kitchen was excellent; modern and equipped with a dream of a rangemaster oven and all the pots, pans etc., that our two cooks could have wished for as we love to self cater on a grand scale.

We went for the walking and we averaged about 13kms every day either on the estate or on sections of the Pennine way. We also walked along two sections of the Hadrian’s Wall which was one of the highlights of our holiday. Northumberland is a very beautiful and peaceful county and we were blessed with some wonderful weather. We also drove across the Alston moors for a visit to Barnaby Castle which is a lovely market town, popping in to see the High Force waterfall and enjoyed an excellent lunch at the Rose and Crown in Romaldkirk.

Our experience at the Cowshed was first class and we would go back and stay again.

Mia & John Leveridge

April 2016

April 2016

Lovely relaxing holiday cottage - Wonderful! You have catered for every need. Thank you. Look forward to coming back.

Rita & Alan Lane - Derbyshire

Faultless. Even the weather was on our side. Beautiful location. Thank you.

Lynn & Graham Whitley - Nottingham

February 2016

February 2016

What a beautiful spot for Gran's 90th Birthday. Everything we needed. All sixteen of us at one table! Enjoyed the board games and excellent TV's. Four generations - something for everyone. Lee (aged 4) loved the swing and the sheep.

Wilson & Crombie

Scotland & Canada

New Year 2015/6

New Year Week - December 2015

I cannot recommend the Cowshed and Barn enough. The property is immaculate and we were welcomed with fresh eggs, cake and local ales.

The property is very well equipped - games and DVDs as well as lovely toiletries. We were also able to get high chairs and travel cots with no problems. The owners were very accommodating and on hand to help with anything we needed.

Great for dogs and walkers there were many walks from the house, on the estate and further a field. We were provided with maps of locals walks which was very handy.

We visited Hadrian's wall during our stay as well as Hexham and Penrith. Both lovely for lunch out. The house was so lovely we actually didn't venture much further!!! I have no negative comments 🙂

Lucy Jackson

Oxfordshire

Christmas 2015

Christmas Week - December 2015

We've had a fantastic week here. The Cowshed is absolutely beautiful and has everything you need. The owners have been more than helpful. Can't wait to comeback with more family.

The Borgi Family

Cambridge

December 2015

December 2015

Fantastic. Our second time here in 4 months and we will return.

Simon & Marie Nixon

Kent

December 2015

December 2015

We converged from disparate corners of the country and Scotland, and had a magical weekend here. Having a perfectly timed snowfall made this a perfect festive getaway with a warm welcome awaiting the glorious snowy walks. Perfect spaces to eat and celebrate together. Thanks.

Emily Mullen

December 2015

December 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - the property was beautiful and suited us perfectly. We expected a luxury property and this exceeded our expectations.

Viv met us when we arrived and showed us around and how to work things. There was a fresh cake, eggs, beers, milk and bread for us too which was an unexpected and pleasant surprise.

The property was very well fitted our, and everything was of a really good quality. I don't think I could find any faults and hope to return.

Jo Brown

November 2015

November 2015

Absolutely fantastic place with everything you need to relax. Beautiful settings - we all had a fab time and can't wait to come back.

The Smiths - South Shields, Tyne & Wear

November 2015

November 2015

What a fantastic place. The facilities are great and love the Cowshed products. Would love to come again. Thank you.

The Brett Party